No ratings yet

The Fuji Five Lakes (富士五湖, Fujigoko) is the most popular spots from which to view Mount Fuji. The region, which lies about 1,000 meters above sea level and was formed by past eruptions of the mountain, consists of (from west to east) Motosuko, Shojiko, Saiko, Kawaguchiko, and Yamanakako. These lakes spread themselves in an arc with a radius of about 15 kilometers north of Mount Fuji.

The most famous lake, and the one to which most tourists travel, is Lake Kawaguchi. This is because it is easy to access from Tokyo and offers the most in terms of tourist attractions and sightseeing. The other lakes offer equally stunning views of the mountain, but are a little more difficult to reach by public transport.

The Fuji Five Lakes region is also popular for hiking, camping, and other outdoors activities—not to mention the many onsen and ryokan that are dotted near the towns and lakes.

Things to Do
Events & Festivals

Visited? Please add your rating!

Send this to a friend